I referred to a column written by Marci Alboher a couple of months ago, and that led me to start reading her columns periodically. I was pleased to discover recently that Marci is now writing a new blog for the New York Times called Shifting Careers.

If you haven’t discovered Marci’s writings, you should check out her blog. It is very well written, entertaining, and insightful. She writes about what she calls the “slash” or “/” career, as in her personal experience as a “corporate lawyer/journalist/speaker/writing coach/and now columnist/blogger.” Perhaps I enjoy her writing so much because she makes me feel better about all the slashes in my career, as in “journalist/retail manager/CPA/technical writer/trainer/career coach.”

As soon as I get a chance, I’m going to pick up a copy of her new book, One Person/Multiple Careers: A New Model for Work/Life Success (Business Plus, 2007).

