I’m really looking forward to the next First Friday Book Synopsis (check out their new web site!) for a couple of reasons.

First, because I really enjoy Patrick Lencioni’s books, and his latest book, The Three Signs of a Miserable Job, is being reviewed this month. I had the privilege of hearing Patrick Lencioni speak at a leadership conference last Friday where he presented a summary of his new book, so this will be the second synopsis of the book I’ve heard within two weeks. I’d like to add the book to my library, so perhaps I can win a free copy of the book in the drawing they have at the end of the meeting (I should get something free for sitting through it twice 🙂 ).

Second, because Randy is not going to be there. Well, not because he won’t be there, but because his absence means that we have the privilege of having Lin O’Neill present the synopsis of the Lencioni book. I haven’t been attending the FFBSs for very long, but I don’t recall that they have ever had a guest presenter at the FFBS. I’m looking forward to hearing Lin’s perspective on the book.

Of course, there is another book being discussed, because Randy and Karl promise to “take you through two books, cover-to-cover, in just one hour.” Karl will be presenting a synopsis of Rules for Renegades: How to Make More Money, RockYour Career, and Revel in Your Individuality by Christine Comaford-Lynch.

If you are in the Dallas area, I highly recommend the FFBS. You get a great buffet breakfast, a chance to network with business men and business students, and a synopsis of two current business books — all for less than you would pay to buy the books.

For more information, or to register, visit their new website.

FFBS Blog

Randy and Karl have also joined the blogging community. If hearing them just once a month isn’t cutting it for you, visit them at their new blog.

