Tags

One thing I’ve learned in life is that I am not designed to work alone. Two people working together can accomplish far more than those two people working independently. This is one of those truths that almost everybody readily acknowledges, yet quickly forgets. There lurks within me a streak of independence that loathes to ask for help, so I often end up spending too much time on a project, doing sloppy work on the project, or not completing the project.

Trying to do everything myself not only robs me, but it also had a negative affect on those around me.

  • My stress increases, so I have less patience for those around me.
  • Other people have to work on or complete projects that I might otherwise be able to work on.
  • I’m not transferring skills to others.
  • I’m not building relationships with others.

Yes, these seem like obvious points, but perhaps I needed a little reminder, courtesy of Andrew Carnegie. Carnegie founded and built Carnegie Steel Company (later US Steel) into one of the world’s largest companies, and in the process became one of the world’s wealthiest men. He was born 172 years ago today.

No man will make a great leader who wants to do it all himself, or to get all the credit for doing it.

Andrew Carnegie (b. 11.25.1835 – d. 8.11.1919)

